The Golf Course and Clubhouse are located at 3700 Gleneagles Road in Charlotte, NC. Quail Hollow Club has what is considered by many to be one of the finest courses in the United States.

The course was originally designed by famed golf course architect George Cobb in 1961 to capture the beauty as well as challenging terrain of the Piedmont region. In the intervening years, the course has undergone a series of improvements, including modifications to several holes by Arnold Palmer in 1986, a redesign by Tom Fazio in 1997 and modifications by Tom Fazio to several holes in the summer of 2016.

The par four 14th is a dogleg left that can be driven with a good tee shot. It measures 346 yards from the championship tees. A 15 acre lake frames the left side of the hole and the rough on that side slopes down to the water. The narrow landing area measures about 27 yards across and is guarded with two bunkers on each side. The two tiered green is long and narrow with about 7,100 square feet of putting surface. Two more bunkers guard the left front and middle of the green, and a collection area waits just off the right front of the green for short approach shots hit off line, or almost perfect drives. The area immediately left of the green slopes severely down to the lake, so shots hit left have a very good chance of ending up in the hazard.

The 17th hole is a 221-yard par three over water. A rock wall rings this part of the lake and borders the left and front of the green. The tee shot must carry the water hazard and a bunker that protects the center. The 6,500-square-foot green is undulated, and on the left side there is only six feet between the edge of the putting surface and water hazard. On the right lies a closely mown collection area for errant shots. The water will be the collection area on the left.

Champions Park

Champions Park, built in 2004, is situated between the ninth and tenth fairways and honors those who have won professional tournaments at Quail Hollow. A rock structure is located in a grove of trees recognizing Kemper winners on the left and World Seniors victors on the right. On a massive, 20-foot high fireplace in the center, the winners of the Wells Fargo are honored with gold plaques. A stone building on the far end serves as a halfway house and a popular concession stand during the tournament, with nearby tables for eating.

Quail Hollow Champions

Kemper Open
1969 Dale Douglass
1970 Dick Lotz
1971 Tom Weiskopf
1972 Doug Sanders
1973 Tom Weiskopf
1974 Bob Menne
1975 Raymond Floyd
1976 Joe Inman
1977 Tom Weiskopf
1978 Andy Bean
1979 Jerry McGee
World Seniors Invitational
1980 Gene Littler
1981 Miller Barber
1982 Gene Littler
1983 Doug Sanders
1984 Peter Thomson
1985 Miller Barber
1986 Bruce Crampton
1987 Gary Player
1988 Dave Hill
1989 Hurricane Hugo
Wells Fargo Championship
2003 David Toms
2004 Joey Sindelar
2005 Vijay Singh
2006 Jim Furyk
2007 Tiger Woods
2008 Anthony Kim
2009 Sean O’Hair
2010 Rory McIlroy
2011 Lucas Glover
2012 Rickie Fowler
2013 Derek Ernst
2014 J.B. Holmes
2015 Rory McIlroy
2016 James Hahn
2017 Brian Harman
2018 Jason Day
2019 Max Homa
99th PGA Championship 2017

Champion Justin Thomas

WBTV World Seniors Invitational 1983-84
Paine Webber World Seniors Invitational 1985-87
Paine Webber Invitational 1988-89

Wachovia Championship 2003-08
Quail Hollow Championship 2009-10

Site Scripts
Hide Click to Edits:
FED Scripts
CWS & Content Load